Cork and Tyrone teams named for All Ireland quarter final.

home / news / Cork and Tyrone teams named for All Ireland quarter final.

Saturday 3rd August 2019 

TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final – ET if necessary

Cork v Tyrone; Duggan Park, Ballinasloe, 3pm – LIVE on LGFA Facebook:

Cork boss Ephie Fitzgerald has reacted to last weekend’s shock loss to Armagh by making five changes in personnel for this quarter-final clash with Tyrone.

The Red Hands are boosted, meanwhile, by the return of skipper Neamh Woods from World Cup duty with the Northern Ireland netball squad.

There should be a reaction from Cork following the Armagh slump, and the memories of the seismic 2010 All-Ireland quarter-final defeat against Tyrone should also serve to focus Rebel minds.

But Tyrone are here very much on merit, having seen off Donegal in the group stages, while also running table-toppers Mayo to three points.

Tyrone have adapted very well to life back in the senior ranks, following their 2018 All-Ireland Intermediate win.

This is very much bonus territory for Gerry Moane and his side, who will look to expose any chinks in the Cork armour.

Cork will have one eye on a potential semi-final with Dublin at Croke Park on August 25, but they have work to do before that becomes a reality.

CORK manager Ephie Fitzgerald has reacted to last weekend’s shock defeat at the hands of Armagh by making five changes in personnel for Saturday’s TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Senior Football Championship quarter-final against Tyrone at Duggan Park, Ballinasloe (3.0).

Despite losing out to the Orchard County, Cork had still done enough in their previous outing against Cavan to top their group on scoring difference.

Hannah Looney returns to take up station at full-back, Orlagh Farmer is back at midfield, while there are starting berths in attack for Eimear Scally, Libby Coppinger and Saoirse Noonan, who were all introduced as subs against Armagh.

In a reshuffled team, Meabh Cahalane, Daire Kiely, Chloe Collins, skipper Doireann O’Sullivan and Rhona Ní Bhuachalla drop to the bench for the clash with the Red Hands.

Tyrone, meanwhile, have made just the one change in personnel to the team that stunned Donegal in the group stages, a victory that ultimately sent Gerry Moane’s side through to the last eight.

It’s a significant change, as captain Neamh Woods returns from netball duty at the World Cup with Northern Ireland.

TG4 All Star Woods, who skippered Tyrone to the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate title, is named in the half-forward line in place of Niamh Hughes.

Saturday’s game, and the All-Ireland Minor B Final between Longford and Roscommon that precedes it, is live on the LGFA’s Facebook Page:

1 Martina O’Brien Clonakilty
2 Eimear Meaney Mourneabbey
3 Hannah Looney Aghada
4 Melissa Duggan Dohenys
5 Emma Spillane Bantry Blues
6 Shauna Kelly Araglen Desmonds Bui
7 Ashling Hutchings Fermoy
8 Maire O’Callaghan Mourneabbey
9 Orlagh Farmer Midleton
10 Áine O’Sullivan Beara
11 Ciara O’Sullivan Mourneabbey
12 Eimear Scally Éire Óg
13 Libby Coppinger St. Colum’s
14 Saoirse Noonan Nemo Rangers
15 Orla Finn Kinsale
1 Shannon Lynch Mna Na Deirge
2 Christiane Hunter St Enda’s Omagh
3 Joanne Barrett Drumragh
4 Caoileann Conway Sperrin Óg
5 Emma Brennan Trillick
6 Tori McLaughlin Sigerson’s Strabane
7 Niamh McGirr St. Macartan’s
8 Emma Jane Gervin Aodh Ruadh
9 Slaine McCarroll St. Macartan’s
10 Neamh Woods Drumragh
11 Maria Canavan Errigal Ciaran
12 Aoibhinn McHugh Aghyaran
13 Niamh O’Neill Sperrin Óg
14 Caitlin Kelly Cappagh
15 Chloe McCaffrey St. Macartan’s

Related news

Instagram Photos